Facing Reckless & Negligent Driving Charges? Call Our Team Today!
Massachusetts classifies negligent driving as driving in a way that endangered the safety of others on the road. This could range from speeding to driving while texting. If found guilty, you could lose your license for up to 60 days.
For many people, driving a car is their only way to get to work, get to school, or complete basic tasks like grocery shopping or going to doctor’s appointments.
If you’ve been charged with negligent driving and cannot afford to lose your license for 60 days, call Eden Rafferty today. We have decades of experience working with defendants to get their negligent driving cases dropped. Let us help you protect your driving record and help you keep your license.
What Exactly Is Negligent Driving?
The basis for a negligent driving charge is very broad. Massachusetts General Laws Chapter 90, Section 24 describes it as: driving “a motor vehicle recklessly, or [operating] such a vehicle negligently so that the lives or safety of the public might be endangered.” This includes racing, not stopping at a stop sign, speeding, or leaving the scene of an accident.
What Are The Consequences Of Negligent or Reckless Driving?
If you are pulled over and charged with reckless or negligent driving, some of the consequences can be:
- 2.5 years of jail time
- Fines between $20 and $200
- Loss of license for 60 days
What Is A Clerk Magistrate’s Hearing?
When you’ve been charged with negligent driving, often you have to go to a Clerk Magistrate’s Hearing. Once charged, you have 4 days to request one of these hearings. At the hearing, you can get your case dropped without any criminal charges being pressed. You shouldn’t represent yourself at one of these hearings. Instead, have an attorney from Eden Rafferty argue on your behalf. If you get your case dropped here, you can save a lot of time and money by not having to go to trial.